Webinars & Podcasts

A series of live and recorded educational, online talks and interviews, designed for librarians. We aim to help librarians and informational professionals gain insight into emerging new information technologies and expert opinion from their peers and publishers on some of the most pressing and relevant issues faced by librarians today.

Webinars: often hosted in collaboration with organizational partners and the broader community, our webinars are free to attend and include lively Q&As at the end of each session - all you need is an internet connection and access to a telephone or computer headset. 

Podcasts: Explore our growing series of educational and collaborative podcast, including tutorials and interviews designed to keep you up to date on news, trends and developments in publishing and technology, as they happen.

Get in touch

Interested in hosting a webinar with us, or want to see a topic covered? Reach out to us with your questions and suggestions!

Upcoming Webinars

June 2020

From Lab to Library – a nanoscientist’s hunt for research content

Dr Pranoti Kshirsagar

Literature review is an integral part of scientific advancement and hence a researcher spends a significant amount of time hunting for the ‘right’ literature. This ‘hunt’ has become adventurous, especially in the nanoscience & technology owing to the popularity of the field. Technology transfer, from lab bench to the market shelf, is also a growing trend in nanoscience which adds a new facet where patents, in addition to the scientific articles, are now part of the data pool. This webinar provides a glimpse into a nanoscientist’s journey from lab to the library in search of the ‘right’ literature and how this journey can be made more comfortable and efficient in order to advance the institute’s research output.


Join Springer Nature on June 17, for a 1-hour webinar with Pranoti Kshirsagar, Product Manager Nanoscience & Technology, our in-house Product Expert and former nanoscientist with experience working in 11 different labs across 2 continents.


Sign up for one of our sessions below:

17th June 9am GMT (London)/10am CEST (Paris)

17th June 5pm JST (Tokyo)/6pm AEST (Melbourne)

17th June 13.30pm IST (New Delhi)/4pm Hong Kong time

17th June 9am PDT (San Francisco)/11am CDT (Mexico)

17th June 12am EDT (New York)/1pm BRT (São Paulo)

17th June 5pm GMT (London)/6pm CEST (Paris)

Latest PodcastsFind more on Soundcloud

Discover our evolving series of educational and collaborative podcasts, including tutorials and interviews designed for the librarian community. 


SeamlessAccess

In this 4-part podcast series, Laird Barrett, Digital Product Manager at Springer Nature joins Heather Flanagan, Program Director at SeamlessAccess.org, to discuss a range of topics: what is SeamlessAccess, how it benefits end-users, what drove Springer Nature to become the first academic publisher to implement SeamlessAccess on Nature.com, why librarians are raising privacy concerns, the difference between SeamlessAccess and GetFTR, and more.

Episode 1: A New Experience of Federated Access: What Is SeamlessAccess?

Learn what SeamlessAccess is, learn why it is appealing to end users, and why did Springer Nature to become the first academic publisher to implement SeamlessAccess on Nature.com?

Episode 2: Alleviating Researcher Pain: What is SeamlessAccess?

What are the current roadblocks hampering authentication services in order to put the researcher needs first? What are the challenges facing libraries and the campus IT departments?

Episode 3: Clearing Up Misconceptions: What Is Seamless Access?

SeamlessAccess was welcomed with praise, but librarians have voiced privacy concerns. Learn how this service is truly about the identity discovery process and find out what the biggest misconceptions are.

Episode 4: Connecting Publishers and Libraries: What Is SeamlessAccess?

In this final podcast episode we address privacy concerns and offer publisher insights on how end-users use devices, the differing regional views of federated authentication, and a standardized, transparent practice for data collection.

Recorded webinarsSee all

Stay up to date

_
Follow us on Twitter

Here to foster information exchange with the library community

_
Follow us on Facebook

Springer Nature's LibraryZone is a community developed to foster sharing of information with the library community. Enjoy!

_
Connect with us on LinkedIn

Connect with us on LinkedIn and stay up to date with news and development.

_
Sign up for our alerts

News, information on our forthcoming books, author content and discounts.